composed // produced by Pascal Le Boeuf
video by Kevin Eikenberg (Four/Ten Media)
performed by Todd Reynolds - violin // Sara Caswell - violin // Jessica Meyer - viola // Nick Photinos - cello // Kenneth Salters - drums // Pascal Le Boeuf - piano
recorded by Andy Taub at Brooklyn Recording
mixed // mastered by mixed // mastered by Dave Darlington at Bass Hit Recording

Traveling can be an exhilarating experience and frequently leads to creative expression. Perhaps we are motivated by an urge to explore the unknown, a desire for personal growth, or a respite from the routine pressures of daily life.  Traveling certainly provides us with the freedom to escape social expectations, explore who we are, and present our true selves to the world. This feeling is the foundation of Wanderlust.

Wanderlust was commissioned by Holland America Line in collaboration with Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts for piano quintet. This version is an expanded arrangement that incorporates the addition of a drum set and elements of improvisation. Each of the members of this ensemble share a common link: a dual participation in both conventionally notated and improvisation oriented idioms. 

"Transition Behavior"

composed // produced by Pascal Le Boeuf
video // lighting design by Four/Ten Media
performed by Shattered Glass String Orchestra
mixed // mastered by Myles Rodenhouse at Douglass Recording

Written for the "Shattered Glass" string orchestra, the title "Transition Behavior" is a reference to the structural properties of glass as a substance.  One interesting thing about glass is that, even through it’s a solid, it still retains liquid properties.  Like the members of an orchestra, the atoms or molecules that form a solid are held together by bonds.  The atoms that form a solid are tightly bound to together either in a repeating geometric pattern (crystals), or in a disordered arrangement to form something in between a liquid and a sold: an amorphous solid.  When crystalline structures are shattered, their structure causes them to "break along fixed planes to produce new facets that intersect at the same angles as those in the original crystal" [1] .  This is not the case with "Shattered Glass".  Glass is in fact an amorphous solid with the liquid ability to flow at an incredibly slow pace, and when an amorphous solid such as glass is shattered it produces jagged fragments, often with curved surfaces.  As a conductor-less orchestra, the members of "Shattered Glass" have no unifying leader but perform as an amorphous solid despite their outward appearance as a traditional ensemble.  This allows for certain freedoms that would not otherwise be available to a string orchestra.  "Transition Behavior" utilizes these freedoms to highlight the autonomy of the many individuals that form the larger structure of the ensemble -- the rich sound of many simultaneous amorphous gestures that combine to reflect a musical representation of "Shattered Glass".

Learn more: http://shattered-glass.org/store


directed // shot // edited by Michael McQuilken
composed // produced by Pascal Le Boeuf
performed by Nicholas Photinos - cello & Doug Perkins - drums
additional strings by Jeffrey Zeigler, Charles Yang, JACK Quartet (Christopher Otto, Ari Streisfeld, John Pickford Richards, Kevin McFarland)
recorded by Rollin Weary, John Kilgore, & Andy Taub
mixed // mastered by Dave Darlington - Bass Hit Studios
consultants: Louis Andriessen, Dave Eggar, & Jason Treuting

Eighth Blackbird founding cellist Nick Photinos and drummer Doug Perkins perform "Alpha", written by Pascal Le Boeuf. The video was created by Michael McQuilken and the piece is featured on Nick Photinos's debut solo recording, "Petits Artéfacts", out August 25 on New Amsterdam Records.

Learn more: https://www.newamrecords.com/albums/petits-artefacts-nick-photinos

"Empty Promise"

Music Composed, Performed, Recorded and Programmed by Pascal Le Boeuf, Sarah Goldfeather, and Robby Bowen
Additional Bass by Tristan Kasten-Krause
Mixed and Produced by Pascal Le Boeuf
Mastered by Dave Darlington
Video by Four/Ten Media

Empty Promise is a social critique that uses human relationship metaphors to highlight our emotional dependence on technology. After working together at the 2015 Bang On A Can Summer Music Festival at MASS MoCA, musicians Pascal Le Boeuf, Sarah Goldfeather, and Robby Bowen met one fateful night in Brooklyn and decided to create a project by merging their collective interests. Rather than construct music to be performed live, they retreated into a bedroom studio with a two microphones, a digital sampler, and a collection of analog synths resulting in a sonic Frankenstein that explores the empty promise of technology and the way it prevents us from interacting IRL (in real life) by taking us AFRL (away from real life).

Similarly, rather than adapt their music for the stage, they engaged the video production team Four/Ten Media (comprised of Evan Chapman and Kevin Eikenberg) to bring their music to the screen. Empty Promise features all the above as well as cameo appearances by a variety of notable musicians from the New York creative community. Inspired by the work of visual artist Alex Da Corte, each scenario involves the juxtaposition of tech equipment to create dissonance in a series of normal situations.

"Variations On Breathing"

Pascal Le Boeuf - pianist, composer, music production
JeanCarlo Ramirez - cinematographer, video production
Kate Vrijmoet - painter n
Katy Short - improvised movement

How can we embrace our true selves amid an ocean of false social constructs and unconscious biases? Borrowing from Vrijmoet’s “Non-Ordinary Reality” painting series and Le Boeuf's compositions for prepared piano, “Variations on Breathing” leads the viewer from the deep sleep of unknowing through a physical and moral struggle to free the self. Metaphors for transformation are explored through the lens of Ramirez's immersive maximalist cinematography, improvised movement, the shedding of aqueous skin, and the transition from full immersion in water to surfacing for air.

Produced by the National YoungArts Foundation


feat. Le Boeuf Brothers + JACK Quartet

Pascal Le Boeuf - Piano/Composer
Remy Le Boeuf - Alto Sax
Ben Wendel - Tenor Sax
Ben Street - Bass
Justin Brown - Drums
Ari Streisfeld - Violin
Christopher Otto - Violin
John Pickford Richards- Viola
Kevin McFarland - Cello

Produced by Pascal & Remy Le Boeuf
Recorded by Andy Taub at Brooklyn Recording
Mixed by Dave Darlington & Pascal Le Boeuf
Mastered by Dave Darlington
Video by Simon Yu



"GIRLS" is the opening track on the RighteousGIRLS debut album "gathering blue," released July 10, 2015 on Panoramic/New Focus Recordings.

Gina Izzo - Flute
Erika Dohi - Piano
Pascal Le Boeuf - Composer
Michael McQuilken - Video

"W.A.I.T.T." (We're All in This Together)

Written, Produced, recorded, and mixed by Pascal Le Boeuf
Drums by Justin Brown
Words by Jane Resnick
Additional drums recorded and mixed at The Bunker Studio by John Davis
Video by Simon C.F. Yu

"Get Home Safely"

Music by Kissy Girls (Pascal Le Boeuf & Emily Greene)
Video by Noah Lagin

"Calgary Clouds"

A collaborative music video between Animator Elliot Lobell and Le Boeuf Brothers.

For more info: LeBoeufBrothers.com vimeo.com/elliotlobell